Watermelon Jungle

Our garden this year has saved us quite a bit of money in tomatoes and cucumbers.  The potatoes didn’t fare nearly as well as last year.  Our biggest, fastest growing, productive plant has been our 5 watermelon plants.  They have taken over 1/2 our back yard (probably a little less than 1/4 of an acre).  It was exciting at first to see all the watermelon plants pop up everywhere but they have only grown to cantaloupe size and no larger.  I’m thinking I should have kept the plants smaller so more energy could have gone into the melons than into the plant.  We will probably start mowing and tilling under 1/2 of the watermelon jungle in my backyard this week to see if it will encourage growth in the melons.  The tomatoes and cuc’s seem to be winding down.  I still need to dig up the sweet potatoes, onions, and carrots.  My 2nd son and I will probably begin preparing for our fall garden this week.  We are going to plant a variety of lettuces and cabbage.  Nothing to big and fancy as we are in the middle of homeschooling and our lives are maxed out!   Hope you find enjoyable ways to save money at your home.  If it’s not enjoyable, it becomes a burden.  I’d rather spend a bit more money than be miserable.  Have a wonderful week!

Leave a comment